Images & Observations

Visiting The Boddy House

I am beginning to get out and about after a long period of being housebound.  One of the places that I visited this week was the Boddy House on the grounds of Los Angeles County’s Descanso Gardens which is located in La Cañada, California.  I have always been a fan of landscape photography, there are so many images to be found in the natural world and I want to develop my eye and my skills in capturing my vision of the natural world.

Nikon D80 55mm ISO 640 1/30 f/11 PSE8 PMXPro

Of the images captured this day, the one above was my favorite. The image is from three exposures, 2 EV apart from each other and then combined in the HDR process and further refined. My only regret this day was that I did not have a wider lens to work with in the oak forest. Descanso Gardens is criss crossed with narrow drives and foot paths, this is the drive leading to the Boddy House.

Nikon D80 18mm ISO 640 1/10 f/11 PSE8 PMXPro

This is a segment of the same drive, as we were heading away from the Boddy House. We were on foot and in the power chair, the only vehicles allowed on the drives are the tram tour vehicle and the grounds keepers’ powered carts.

Nikon D80 27mm ISO 640 1/30 f/11 PSE8 PMXPro

The Boddy House was the home of E. Manchester Boddy and his family. Boddy developed the property beginning in 1937.

All of the images could not have been made without the collaboration of Judy Frost.

Leave a Reply

