Images & Observations

New Glass & Playing With Photoshop

I acquired a new Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED last week, here is  my first shot using it in the backyard.  I am lusting over some Adobe products now, they are offering Photoshop CS5 for $300 for users of Elements, and if you buy Lightroom at the same time, they will throw that in for $200  I played Lightroom tutorials this morning and I am getting hooked.  Photo gear is my crack.

Nikon D80 10mm ISO160 1/45 f/6.7 PSE8 PMXPro

After HDE processing and tone mapping in PhotomatixPro I manipulated it further in Photoshop Elements. What I did:

  1. Adjusted the perspective to remove most of the “tilting” of the block wall and the houses in the background.
  2. Removed the palm tree in the background.
  3. Changed the texture of the image using the Watercolor filter. (Click on the image to enlarge it and see more of the “watercolor” effect.)
  4. Brightened the overall image.
  5. Deepened the color saturation.
  6. Added posterized edges.
Leave a Reply

