Images & Observations

Munger Research Center & A Birthday Present

Nikon D80 20mm ISO 100 1/45 f/9.5 3 brackets (-2) (0) (+2) LR3 PMXPro 3

The Munger Research Center doubled the amount of space available to the Huntington Library. Over six million rare books, manuscripts, prints, photographs, maps, and other materials in the fields of British and American history and literature are archived at the Huntington Library.  This includes an extensive collection of American Photographic images captured during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

It was my birthday recently and I gave myself a present of a bundle of software, Photoshop Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5.  As an already registered Photoshop Elements user, Adobe offered the new bundle at half off, that was a deal I could not ignore.  For the past week or so I have been viewing Lightroom tutorials and learning how to use this new tool.  The image above was originally processed in Elements and Photomatix and it was not appealing to me.  I reprocessed the Photomatix result in Lightroom and applied one of its preset color and tone enhancements, and then fine tuned from there.  I removed some spots caused by debris on the lens, reduced the noise in the sky and just slightly adjusted saturation and luminance.   I particularly like the reflection of trees and sky from the windows on the building’s facade.

While the video tutorials (by Chris Orwig via lynda.com) help quite a bit, I am finding that mastering evertyhing that Lightroom has to offer will require a lot of trial and error on my part.

Leave a Reply

