Images & Observations

Protecting Your Work

 

Nikon D80 18-135mm @52mm ISO 200 f/11 (-2.0 0.0 +2.0) Lr3 HDR Efex Pro

I am using the image of  blue barrel cacti here as a metaphor for the need to erect a  protective perimeter around our work.  I just read: “Photographer’s Survival Manual: A Legal Guide for Artists in the Digital Age” by Edward C. Greenberg & Jack Resniki, and spent the day packaging and submitting all of the photographs that I published last year to the United States Copyright Office for registration of my copyrights.  I recommend this book to anyone who is serious about their photography, in a very easy and inviting style it will open your eyes to the basics that all photographers should know about copyright issues, and it will take you through the process of electronically registering your copyrights with the Copyright Office.

I am not going to discuss  what I learned about copyright law here as I am not a copyright attorney, but you can be certain that I will  be registering all of my applicable works in the future in advance of my publishing any images, anywhere.  There will be a brief interlude in my posting of images here on the blog, and in my portfolio at waynefrost.com while I compile my current work for registration with the copyright office.  In the past I had posted images here and in my portfolio almost immediately after completing processing.  I will no longer do that.  I will be batching new images for periodic submission to the Copyright Office, and then, only after submission to the copyright office will I publish my images on any medium.

I really did get some great images that I am very happy with this past weekend, but please be patient, it will be a while before I publish them.  It will be worth the wait, and if everything goes according to plan we will be out and about tomorrow, capturing more new images.

Leave a Reply

