Images & Observations

View Through The Barrel Vault; Never Forget To Look Behind You

Nikon D80 10-24mm @ 10mm ISO 200 f/11 7 Bkts 5.0 sec to 20.0 sec LR3 HDR Efex Pro

This image looking through the barrel vaulted lobby area of the Pasadena City Hall was captured the same evening as the image in my previous post.  Prior to making the image above, I had been positioned about midway between the foreground and the archway you see from this vantage point, facing in the opposite direction as this.  I was trying to capture a similar archway with pediments that was framing the atrium beyond.  The image that I captured in that attempt, when rendered on the LCD on the back of the camera was not as successful as I had hoped, it was then that I moved forward (toward the back arch I had been targeting) and turned around that I realized the better composition was the image that presented itself behind me.

In this scene we are looking through the barrel vaulted, tiled outdoor lobby area of the city hall, looking west in to the evening sky just after sundown.  This is a very interesting location for photography, for some reason this image seems very film noir-ish to me, making me think of the movie “Chinatown” that starred Jack Nicholson, Faye Dunaway and John Huston.  You sort of wonder who will step out from the shadows next to the building columns.

This and the previous image captured at this location have, in my opinion, been my best HDR images created to date.

8 responses

  1. wow, great capture!

    January 31, 2011 at 7:54 AM

  2. Thanks, Tracy, always appreciate feed back.

    January 31, 2011 at 8:47 AM

  3. Nice shot; I feel this is your best HDR that I’ve seen so far on this blog, your techniques are really coming along well. I really like ths shadows on the walls.

    Though I’m not viewing this at home on a decent monitor, it appears that the image is slightly off center; I would perhaps crop it a little at the left to make the arch more central and offer greater symmetry between the walls.

    February 1, 2011 at 4:58 AM

  4. Thanks, Murphyz. When post processing I knew it was not quite symmetrical, but I liked that it showed more of the foreground column on the left, seemed to give it more three-dimensionality to me, or maybe I am just a contrarian when it comes to perfectly symmetrical images.

    I do appreciate your thoughts, and agree the last two images posted here have been my best HDR images, I am gradually improving my skills. Not all the way there yet with the skills, or the consistency, but I am enjoying practicing.

    February 1, 2011 at 1:32 PM

  5. wow Wayne surreal – looks great. The whole HDR thing is foreign to me but you do a great job with it.

    February 3, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    • Thanks, Sheila, I’m getting there, a bit at a time, in terms of perfecting my HDR skills.

      February 3, 2011 at 6:59 PM

  6. Oh, I really like this! Love the colors, the detail and how the eye drawn back into the picture by the perfectly framed view out the far side. A simple, but very artistically composed photo, Wayne!

    February 11, 2011 at 7:38 AM

    • Thanks, Cheryl, yes, I like this one too.

      February 11, 2011 at 10:25 PM

Leave a Reply

