Images & Observations

In To The Grinder

Nikon D80 28-300mm @ 90mm ISO 1000 1/125 f/5.3 Lr3

A typical Thursday evening on I-210 in southern California, something that many of us have had to face for decades on end.  I am happy to say that I made it through the grinder for about 40 years and now do not have to submit to it, unless I choose.  I was in the power chair in the van, positioned just behind the front seats,  happily snapping away, while Judy was at the wheel, toughing it out for the trip home.

It was the first time I used my new AF-S Nikkor 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6 G ED-VR since I had acquired it. As we were rolling through stop-and-go traffic on the freeway I realized that we were missing the Golden Hour lights and shadows expressed across the San Gabriel Mountain Range which parallels I-210.  I pulled the camera out of the bag and mounted the big lens and began snapping away, at the distant mountains, and at the cars on the freeway.  The light was fading fast, and the jerky traffic movements were not helping me get my shots, this was the best of the lot.

I have a feeling I am going to enjoy using this lens more.

4 responses

  1. This one turned out quite well; I like how the car interior along the top and the bottom left of the image add to the claustrophobic and squeezed in feelings that rush hour traffic gives you.

    February 3, 2011 at 6:23 AM

  2. Thanks, Murphyz, yes I also like how that particular focal length framed the image, and giving me some compression on the cars.

    February 3, 2011 at 9:08 AM

  3. Ug! Thanks for the reminder of why I’m not out there in the gridlock every day! Sometimes I’m glad I’m medically “retired” and I don’t have to suffer this nonsense anymore. I feel sorry for those who do. You’ve captured the frustration of the daily traffic jam quite nicely. (My sympathies to your wife!)

    February 11, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    • Fortunately, Judy only has to endure this on a periodic basis also now. While I miss being able to just get in the car and drive myself anywhere on a whim, I think I may still have the better part of the deal when it comes to being subject to urban traffic.

      February 11, 2011 at 10:32 PM

Leave a Reply

