Images & Observations

Guns, Ammo & Gifts

 

Nikon D80 10-24mm @ 24mm ISO 200 3-bkts f/22 Lr3 HDR Efex Pro

After capturing some images in Piru, Judy and I headed down the road to Fillmore, California and spent some time wandering around the area surrounding Central and Main.  Fillmore is roughly 50 miles northwest from Los Angeles and at least 30 years behind the greater Los Angeles area in terms of population density and land development; a significant amount of developed land in the Fillmore area is still given over to agriculture.  As evoked by this image, the pace of life, personal priorities and values are reminiscent of an earlier, some might say, simpler time in our history.

As I stated in my “Storm Over City Hall” posting one of the subjects I want to explore with my photography is of images that convey a sense of life in an earlier time in our history and when we strolled around Fillmore this was one of the images that was presented to me.  So rather than a dramatic visual image expressing artistry that dazzles the eye, I give you a much more subtle, documentary image, that might convey your mind  back to Another Time, which is the latest category I have added to the blog’s image inventory.

I initially rendered this image in sepia toned black and white, but the lettering in the shop windows got lost in that image, so the final image was rendered with a mono-toned color palette,  with a bit of emphasis on the warm color tones.  The goal was to capture a contemporary image and make it look like it was captured long before today.

6 responses

  1. The name got me 🙂 I have’t even seen a gun shop in my life (not many people here own a gun) and to sell them as gifts is just strange for me 🙂

    February 25, 2011 at 1:45 AM

    • Actually, the gun shops are few and far between, Miroslav, but they are part of the culture here. When I saw those words together in the window it did strike me as being somewhat absurd, as in “Happy birthday, I bought you a box of bullets.”

      February 25, 2011 at 12:13 PM

  2. Ken Bello

    Very nice shot. I don’t recommend giving a gun as a wedding present, though.

    February 25, 2011 at 8:28 AM

    • Usually, in some parts, the shot gun is already at the wedding, Ken. 😉

      February 25, 2011 at 12:15 PM

  3. I like your choice to give this a toned old film type look.

    March 5, 2011 at 5:30 PM

  4. Thanks, Mark. In my opinion we have a much wider range of controllable creative expression available to us when processing digital images than in the old days of film and chemicals.

    March 5, 2011 at 6:53 PM

Leave a Reply

