Images & Observations

Dusk Falls On City Hall

Nikon D80 10-24mm @ 24mm ISO 200 3-bkts f/11 HDR Efex Pro, Ps5, Viveza, Color Efex Pro

As the sun was getting low over Fillmore City Hall the shadows grew longer and the moon began rising in the eastern sky when I captured the brackets for this image..  The scene might suggest that the seat of government in Fillmore has stood the test of time, that would, however, be an incorrect conclusion.  Fillmore was first settled around the time that the city’s grid was first laid out in 1887, incorporation occurred in 1914.  While the appearance of this photograph would suggest that the Fillmore City Hall may have been erected at about the time of incorporation, in reality, this is the sixth incarnation of the Fillmore City Hall and it was built in 1997.

To arrive at this final image I combined and tone mapped three bracketed exposures using HDR Efex Pro.  I used a combination of Viveza and Photoshop to adjust exposure and tone, and an adjustment layer in Photoshop to replace the halo’ed sky that resulted after the HDR process.  The original color tones were too garish to my taste and inaccurate to boot, I used the Color Efex Pro  Duplex filter to alter the color tones and the Color Efex Pro Vignette Blur filter to soften the focus on the edges of the image.  Lightroom was used for final sharpening.

This was another image that I had worked over quite a bit, and only over time was I able to control my urges to produce a “punchy” image, and arrive at a more subtle interpretation and final vision.  I really think that it does help to put aside my images after first processing them, and resist the urge to publish them immediately, so that over time I will find my way back to the images, and a different, and hopefully, better perspective.  Deliberation is the key to producing memorable images.

6 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    Very nice, Wayne. Good post processing work, but that alone doesn’t make for a good photograph. It has to have good composition and structure, and this does. Well done.

    March 8, 2011 at 6:51 AM

  2. Thanks, Ken.

    March 8, 2011 at 9:44 AM

  3. I like the soft light in this shot, and the moon peeking out behind the building – nicely done.

    March 8, 2011 at 4:18 PM

  4. Thanks, Michael. Because of the way I processed this I lost a lot of detail in the building “pediment”, but I think the trade-off was worth it in terms of the overall image effects.

    March 8, 2011 at 4:51 PM

  5. Very pretty scene, nicely done.

    March 9, 2011 at 5:53 AM

  6. Thanks, Mark.

    March 9, 2011 at 9:50 AM

Leave a Reply

