Images & Observations

Urban Parking

 

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 24mm ISO 320 1/25 f/10 Lr3; SEP2

We are back at the Loring Building one more time this week.  Gasoline is currently going for just over $5.00 a gallon in Southern California, so this mode of personal transportation and parking is relatively thrifty.   I am not sure how well this fellow will do on a day when the temperature reachers triple digits, it was in the 60-70 range the day this image was captured.

I used the Wet Rocks Silver Efex Pro filter on this and added a cyanotype tone and the black border.  Did a little burning in on the stone column on the right with the adjustment brush, then sharpened and noise reduction  in Lightroom,

10 responses

  1. Nice work with Silver Efex. I use it a lot but almost never use the Wet Rocks preset as it always comes out too harsh when I try it. Now that I’ve seen someone make it work I’ll give it another shot.

    April 8, 2011 at 7:55 AM

  2. Thanks, Mark. I am finding that playing with the control sliders on the presets can produce some interesting variations.

    April 8, 2011 at 8:32 AM

  3. Nice capture, Wayne! I paid $3.63/gallon this morning for my Prius. Just glad I get to telecommute twice a week. Don’t think I could bike 27 miles each way to work!

    April 8, 2011 at 9:20 PM

  4. Thanks, Zann. Oil prices are killing our economy.

    April 8, 2011 at 9:32 PM

    • Stanley

      The price of oil may “kill” us in the short term but actually save us in the long run if it hastens the development and switch out to other forms of renewable energy. Sometimes the bitter leads to the sweet.

      April 9, 2011 at 12:29 PM

  5. Thanks for the comment, Stanley. Unfortunately I see the oil corporations exerting more pressure on government and consumers for the status quo. As long as an oil company can make huge profits depleting natural resources, no matter what cost to the environment, they will continue drilling oil and gouging the consumers at the pump.

    As long as Congress is beholden to corporate lobbyists, our government will never do enough to support research and development in to the most constant energy source in the Universe, solar.

    April 9, 2011 at 1:43 PM

  6. nice composition Wayne – and the effect is very neat!

    April 10, 2011 at 3:38 PM

  7. Thanks, Sheila. I’ve got some more Street Life images coming up in a few weeks that have similar post processing.

    April 10, 2011 at 4:06 PM

  8. Nice tones on this shot Wayne, I dig it. Haven’t tried Silver Efex but I hear good things about it.

    April 12, 2011 at 5:20 AM

  9. Thanks, Michael. I always appreciate the feed-back.

    April 12, 2011 at 9:38 AM

Leave a Reply

