Images & Observations

The Conversation

Street Life

Nikon D80 18-135mm @ 105mm ISO 320 1/30 f/11 Lr3; SEP2

As I have refined (read improved with study and practice) my post processing skills I have looked back and given some of my images a second chance at life beyond my disk drive.  This image was captured in September of 2010 when I was just beginning to explore HDR photography, and it did not make the cut in my mind as a color HDR to share with anyone.  However I find the subjects and their positioning relative to each other compelling as a theme (the interaction of humans with each other and within the context of the environment they find themselves).  I believe tableaus such as this are enhanced in the black an white medium.  A book that I read 50 odd years ago has always stayed with me, with its compelling, classic image of people created by masters of the genre, “The Family of Man“.  If you are enthusiastic about capturing images of people in life and you have not seen this collection of images, I urge you to get a copy of this book, it really had a profound effect one me in terms inspiring me to be a creator of similar images.

Processing this image was not complex at all.  I converted the Nikon raw color files to .DNG’s in Lighroom, used Silver Efex Pro 2 to do the black and white conversion, using the Wet Rocks filter, tweaking overall exposure, contrast; blacks and whites a bit.  Then applied a medium cyan tone and the black border in SEP.  Used the adjustment brush back in Lightroom to slightly darken the street light in the background, do the sharpening and minor noise clean-up.

4 responses

  1. Great shot! I like street portrait shots like this that capture people in the moment. Nice job.

    April 22, 2011 at 7:22 AM

    • Thanks, Jason. More coming up net week.

      April 22, 2011 at 9:23 AM

  2. ken bello

    This is a nice candid shot of these folks, Wayne. I like your choice of the cyan tone, it gives it a late evening look.

    April 22, 2011 at 7:59 AM

    • Thanks, Ken. I have sort of come under the spell of cyanotone.

      April 22, 2011 at 9:24 AM

Leave a Reply

