Images & Observations

A Hard Life

Street Life

Nikon D7000 18-135mm @ 44mm ISO 1250 1/6 f/8 Lr3; CEP3

This gentleman seems to be a regular fixture on Mercantile Place, I’ve seen him two out of the last three times we were there.  I don’t know his story, the feelings that this image conveys to me is of a person who may have had a hard life, toiling outside among the elements for many years, someone who might be down on his luck, but who is tough and perseveres through life.  I asked for permission to photograph him before I took this shot and a couple others and he accepted  $5.00 I offered him after getting the shots.  The second time I saw him, he said hello and was without the crutch.  If I encounter him again, I think I will work up the nerve to try and engage him in conversation (I am still shy after all these years).  I am fascinated by the color and lines in his face and would really like to learn his story.

As originally captured the image was quite flat looking in comparison to this final rendering.  I did initial adjustments and cropping in Lightroom, then used Color Efex Pro to lighten the center and darken the edges, enhanced the center/edge contrast back in Lightroom, added vignetting, and did sharpening and noise reduction.

10 responses

  1. nice capture Wayne, photos like this are interesting and can really tell a story, well done! Jim

    April 27, 2011 at 6:02 AM

    • Thanks, Jim. If my images can tell a story I have succeeded. I am pleased with this one myself.

      April 27, 2011 at 10:54 AM

  2. Wonderful portrait Wayne!

    April 27, 2011 at 6:38 AM

    • Thanks, John. I thought the colors worked really well.

      April 27, 2011 at 10:55 AM

  3. Cool shot, this really makes me want to try street photography.

    April 27, 2011 at 10:33 PM

  4. Thanks, Ryan. You definitely encounter all character types on the street.

    April 27, 2011 at 10:40 PM

  5. I find myself creating my own stories when I am unable to get to know the people I photograph. You’ve captured a wonderful moment, Wayne. Candid and heartbreaking . . .

    April 28, 2011 at 3:49 PM

  6. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Barbara. Every face does have a story behind it, and it does please me that I was able to capture this one.

    April 28, 2011 at 3:56 PM

  7. Wayne I agree with the people who have already replied (sorry I’m late). Very compelling portrait.

    May 2, 2011 at 8:15 AM

  8. Thanks, Tom. I appreciate the comment and am glad you stopped by.

    May 2, 2011 at 9:40 AM

Leave a Reply

