Images & Observations

Strolling The Avenue

Street Life

Nikon D7000 18-135mm @ 31mm ISO 1250 1/30 f/8 Lr3; SEP2

The corner of Mercantile Place and Fairoaks Avenue in Old Town, Pasadena, California is a great place to hang out and wait for the people to pass by.  I just park myself and the wheelchair in the shade against an adjacent building, and Judy heads in to the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf shop that is right there and fetches a very nice cold or hot mocha latte for me.  I could not resist getting some shots of this gentleman and his dog out for a Saturday afternoon stroll.  He was waiting for his coffee order to be filled, so he and his little companion were checking out the scene.  I love the casual pose, the rumpled suit and the loafers without socks look.  (I am partial to deck shoes without socks myself.)

Black and white conversion, cyan toning and black borders in Silver Efex Pro 2, everything else in Lightroom 3, which included a lot of work with the adjustment brush to adjust tones in the people (both on the street, and behind the window) and the guy’s suit.

9 responses

  1. I’m liking these street photography shots Wayne.. Keep it up!

    April 29, 2011 at 7:22 AM

  2. Nice shot! It looks like that man and dog are guarding the corner. 🙂

    April 29, 2011 at 7:29 AM

    • Thanks, Kristi. When I saw the man and the dog I knew I had a picture to capture.

      April 29, 2011 at 9:23 AM

  3. This shot has a little of everything. There is just so much to look at, I love it.

    April 29, 2011 at 7:40 AM

  4. Thanks, Ryan. Yes, a lot going on, I think it does capture some vibrancy of the street life.

    April 29, 2011 at 9:25 AM

  5. cool Wayne – so much is going on in this image. I am drawn to the man’s crumpled suit – tells a story. I’m liking your street images – great time capsules.

    May 1, 2011 at 9:38 AM

  6. Love the bluish tone. Great street scene.

    May 1, 2011 at 11:01 AM

  7. Thanks, Sheila and ATMX. When I was a teenager I used to suck in any photojournalistic image I could find to look at, pictures of people experiencing life always intrigued me. What Cartier-Bresson described as the “decisive moment” is what I strive for in this genre.

    May 1, 2011 at 2:39 PM

Leave a Reply

