Images & Observations

Steel Rails

Nikon D7000 18-135mm @ 50mm ISO 200 3-bkts f5.6 Lr3, HEP1; CEP3

Strong and enduring, picture a freight train comprised of steel and other materials and weighing anywhere from 5,000,000 pounds to 40,000,000 pounds traveling on these rails at 80 miles per hour.  Judy and I were on the concrete platform somewhere between 48 and 72 inches from the rails as a fast freight train came up on us much quicker than we anticipated .  The sound was deafening, and we were being whipped by winds caused by the steel behemoth crashing through the air next to us; the vibrations coming up to my butt in the wheel chair.  It was a long train, it seemed like a frightening eternity as that train barreled past us.  We will be giving trains and tracks a wide berth in the future.

After initial raw processing and HDR conversion with Lightroom and HDR Efex Pro I used both Color Efex Pro and Lightroom to adjust color and contrast and selectively lighten and darken various areas of the image.  Final sharpening, noise reduction and vignetting in Lightroom.

20 responses

  1. ken bello

    At least you got a great photo for the experience. Worth it? I’ll guess yes.

    May 13, 2011 at 6:07 AM

    • Thanks, Ken. Judy told me afterwards, “let’s never do that again”.

      May 13, 2011 at 8:57 AM

  2. Great details. 🙂

    May 13, 2011 at 7:51 AM

    • Thanks, Kristi. It took a little work in post processing, but I think worth it.

      May 13, 2011 at 8:58 AM

  3. wow that is one rustic shot. nice processing.

    May 13, 2011 at 7:52 AM

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Sathya, I really appreciate it.

      May 13, 2011 at 8:59 AM

  4. cool shot Wayne, I like how you can make out the letters and numbers on the rail, well done!

    May 13, 2011 at 10:31 AM

  5. Thanks, Jim, making the lettering stand out was one of my objectives. I think it tells a little bit of the story about the origin of the rails.

    May 13, 2011 at 11:50 AM

  6. A I can make out from those letters is Nippon, which as far as I know doesn’t have any other meanings than “Japan”. Surely this steel wasn’t shipped from Japan?

    Anyways, nice shot.

    May 14, 2011 at 5:56 AM

  7. Thanks for the comment, David. Since you are on the ground in Japan, I will defer to your knowledge of all things Japanese. I do think, though, that it is possible old steel is shipped from the U.S. to Japan to be recycled and then shipped back.

    May 14, 2011 at 11:48 AM

    • You’re probably right. The word just jumped out at me 🙂

      May 20, 2011 at 9:09 PM

  8. wonderful description – and image Wayne!

    May 15, 2011 at 7:17 AM

  9. Thanks, Sheila, we were sort of frozen in place, the sensation of the passing train was so impact full I think we were both afraid that if we moved, it would be in the wrong direction.

    May 15, 2011 at 9:28 AM

  10. I really like the processing and texture of this one. It just kind of glows. Well done!

    May 17, 2011 at 7:53 AM

  11. Thanks, Ryan. I took a little time, but I think worth the effort too.

    May 17, 2011 at 11:28 AM

  12. Your post processing work has breathed a vibrancy and life into this frame that is so appealing. Stunning detail and I can almost feel the presence of the freight train as I view the image.

    May 29, 2011 at 1:54 AM

  13. Thanks, Paul. I’ve been viewing your images and the single word that comes to mind when I think of that body of work is “purity”, of composition, and of the image capture and processing.

    May 29, 2011 at 12:10 PM

  14. This is very nice, Wayne. Love to color and texture of the steel rails.

    August 19, 2011 at 9:50 AM

  15. Thanks, Leighton

    August 19, 2011 at 1:06 PM

  16. Pingback: Friday Photo Spots Weekly Roundup & My First HDR Image

Leave a Reply

