Images & Observations

Brighton Shop Window

Nikon D80 18-135mm @ 22mm ISO 1250 3-bkts (+/- 2EV) f/4.8 Lr3, HEP1; SEP2

Today formally begins my periodic series of shop windows.   Since I first published the Patterson Hardware shop window I have begun to see more shop windows and the stories they tell as subjects worthy of capture in my camera, so as of today one of my official categories for this blog will be “Shop Windows”.  Which at times I find much more interesting than slick print or web advertisements for stores or products.  One could argue that window dressing in some venues has achieved the status of being considered high art.  Whether you accept that or not, I believe that you may agree with me that the way that individual shop keepers display their shop windows to the world can be a clever, whimsical, engaging exercise in the art of catching a passerby’s eye.

This is the Brighton store at Paseo Pasadena, Pasadena, California.  That is my daughter on the right side, keeping an eye on her mother who is bargain hunting in the store.  The contents of this store  for sale had zero interest for me, but my eye was attracted to the iron work, the chandelier in the store and the light reflecting off of the tiles on the walkway.  As with the majority of my images in this blog, this shot was hand-held.

10 responses

  1. melodie

    Beautiful picture and one of my favorite stores!! 🙂

    May 23, 2011 at 8:27 AM

  2. Hey, thanks for the comment, Mel.

    May 23, 2011 at 8:32 AM

  3. Stanley

    I find their window incredibly inviting (as captured by your wonderful photo) with the ONE glaring exception of their addition of the cartoon shopper with thought bubble. What were they thinking when they added that? Jarring and out of place, to say the least…

    May 23, 2011 at 10:15 AM

  4. Wonderful black and white image!

    May 23, 2011 at 6:35 PM

  5. Thanks, James!

    May 23, 2011 at 11:12 PM

  6. I love that you captured that girl looking in the window. It adds a nice touch!

    May 24, 2011 at 7:41 AM

  7. Thanks, Jason.

    May 24, 2011 at 10:54 AM

  8. very nice Wayne. love the mood you’ve created.

    May 26, 2011 at 6:23 AM

  9. Thanks, Sheila.

    June 1, 2011 at 4:38 PM

Leave a Reply

