Images & Observations

Cache: Two Moody Interpretations

Shop Windows

Continuing the visit to Paseo Pasadena in Pasadena, California here are two interpretations of the image I captured of the Cache shop:

Nikon D80 18-135mm @ 18mm ISO 1250 1/20 f/4.8 Lr3; SEP2

I was trying to give some mystery and intrigue to the stairway and kept it dark during post processing.  For some reason my mind imagined pirates coming down the stairway looking for the cache of treasure.

Nikon D80 18-135mm @ 18mm ISO 1250 1/20 f/4.8 Lr3, SEP2; CEP3

In this version I experimented with the fog effect available as one of the Nik Color Efex Pro filters, imagining Cache as a warm, inviting grog shop on the end of a foggy pier.

I would really like to know which image resonates more with you, so please leave a comment indicating your preference.

5 responses

  1. I’m liking your shop photos Wayne. Excellent composition! The fog is a neat effect but the clarity and detail of the first image appeals to me more.

    May 26, 2011 at 6:26 AM

  2. yep, I like the 1st photo best with the dark stairs, leaves a lot to the imagination!

    May 26, 2011 at 12:58 PM

  3. Thanks, Sheila and Jim. I agree with the both of you, like the first shot much more.

    May 27, 2011 at 9:08 AM

  4. Oh, now see … I like the fog shot better! Typically I like clarity, but I think the fog goes well with the shiny floor tiles which look like they could either be wet from an earlier shower or damp with condensation from the fog. I like the intrigue of the mist. I think this would make a great book jacket photo for a murder mystery!

    June 1, 2011 at 1:07 PM

  5. I think you might be right, Cheryl. Maybe we need to see Sam Spade appearing from the shadows

    June 1, 2011 at 4:36 PM

Leave a Reply

