Images & Observations

Heritage Boxcar

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 15mm ISO 400 3-bkts f/22 Lr3, HEP1, CEP3; PsCS5

This old boxcar is resting on the western edge of Heritage Square, hard by the Pasadena Freeway (the nation’s first freeway) in Los Angeles.  As an example of great minds thinking alike I captured this image at about the same time that Van Sutherland captured a similar image, two time zones away.  Van titled his image “Character” and you will find it on his blog Exile Imaging.  Van’s version is more realistic than my interpretation, my excuse is that he had a better weathered subject than I did, covered with some great peeling paint, so I had to rely more upon slight of hand to make my surfaces more interesting.

6 responses

  1. really interesting subject and treatment Wayne.

    July 4, 2011 at 5:03 AM

    • Thanks, Sheila. The sky and the background were all blown out because the sun was peaking over the top right side of the boxcar, so I had to do something with it all. Made a duplicate layer, converted it to B&W, then darkened it, then masked back the boxcar from the color layer.

      July 4, 2011 at 10:20 AM

  2. ken bello

    There is plenty of character here also, Wayne. Old rr cars make interesting subjects. This is really nice.

    July 4, 2011 at 5:48 AM

    • Thanks, Ken. I love railroad stuff and can’t get to enough of it.

      July 4, 2011 at 10:21 AM

  3. I like the treatment on this image, Wayne. Very nice feel to it. And thanks for the mention!

    July 4, 2011 at 6:12 AM

    • Thanks, Van. I still like your peeling paint better than my distressed steel.

      July 4, 2011 at 10:22 AM

Leave a Reply

