Images & Observations

The Fountain At Library Park

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 17mm ISO 800 3-bkts f/14 Lr3, HEP1; PsCS5

Continuing our visit to Myrtle Avenue in Monrovia, California on a recent evening I discovered a gem of a park that I had really never noticed in all the years when I used to drive and would drive by without really noticing it.  You see and appreciate so much more when you are on foot, or in a power chair that won’t get up to more than five miles an hour.

This was shot hand-held, the three brackets at 1/50, 1/10 and 1/3.  Very minimal tweaking in Lightrooom and Nik’s HDR Efex Pro.

Please follow me on Google+ and I will add you to my Photo Friends circle.  If you have not checked out Google+ I recommend you do, the Circles function gives you great control over managing your social networking contacts, the Hangout feature for instant voice and video conferencing is awesome; Trey Ratcliff has been hosting Hangouts for photographers almost daily, and quite a community of photographers is growing over there. If you are a photographer do not get scared off by the TOS if you wish to load photos up there, there seems to be a lot of misinformed fear mongering going on about this.  I am hosting some of my galleries there and like the presentation, if you load images there and you have EXIF data in your image files it will be displayed in the photo album, together with the histogram, which should be a great tool if you want to study other photographers’ work.

6 responses

  1. This is a great image Wayne! I find that it was shot handheld to be doubly impressive sir. This looks like it came right out of Trey Ratcliff’s portfolio, and of course I mean that as a compliment. I have read him talking about Google+, I will check it out.

    July 14, 2011 at 5:41 AM

    • Thanks, Charles. I really appreciate the comment.

      July 14, 2011 at 7:43 AM

  2. great comp Wayne and great processing too, just joined G+ myself, still trying to figure it out though!!

    July 14, 2011 at 9:05 PM

  3. Thanks, Jim. It’s all about the circles over at G+.

    July 15, 2011 at 4:02 PM

  4. this is really beautiful Wayne! Have been thinking about joining G+ – will have to check it out!

    July 20, 2011 at 6:38 AM

    • Thanks, Sheila. So far I am liking G+ a lot more than Facebook.

      July 20, 2011 at 6:10 PM

Leave a Reply

