Images & Observations

Surfers’ 1949 Plymouth Woody

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 20mm ISO 800 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1; PsCS5

The Pasadena show only permitted pre-1974 automobiles to enter, so instead of seeing an infinite array of contemporary fast cars, we had the opportunity to visit a lot of older cars that offered more nostalgia and character.  Back when I was in high school Woody’s were fairly common, now if a see a Woody it is a real rarity.  I really appreciate the wood door panels, the white walls, the rounded snout and that very business-like bumper.  If you don’t know what that is hanging in front of the grill, it is a canvas water bag, water in the bag is kept cool by evaporative cooling.

I used layers and masking to diffuse much of the light and to selectively un-focus the background and rear part of the car, brushing gaussian blurring in various strengths.  I wanted the scene to resemble a foggy day at the beach, and I think this treatment also gives a sense of the car emerging from the past.  I changed the color of the surfboards to make them a little more prominent.

9 responses

  1. Awesome post here Wayne, I am an old car buff to the extreme myself so I am very much looking forward to following your work here.

    July 27, 2011 at 11:20 AM

    • Thanks, Scott. I enjoyed your blog series on that failed real estate development.

      July 27, 2011 at 2:34 PM

  2. This is another stunner. The car photos lately have been great, and the look you are developing in this shot and the Red Vette is a keeper.

    July 27, 2011 at 12:33 PM

    • Thanks, Mark. I’ve been getting a lot of images at car shows recently, but after about five minutes they all start to look alike, so yes, I am trying to do anything that enhances an image from the run of the mill “car mug shot”. And it is helping me improve my post processing techniques. I’ve got Matt Kloskowski’s new compositing book on pre-order, now I’ve got to get out and capture some background image stock for my Lightroom catalog. One of the constraints I work with is the fact that my vantage point is always from a sitting positing in the power chair, but I’m thinking of attaching the camera to a mono pod and using that to adjust my point of view up or down.

      July 27, 2011 at 2:42 PM

  3. wild! it looks so surreal Wayne… really artsy!

    July 28, 2011 at 12:42 PM

    • Thanks, Sheila. I’ve been experimenting with making some of my images more “painterly” recently. I’ll have some interesting results here starting tomorrow.

      July 31, 2011 at 11:36 AM

  4. Waune, this is fantastic! Great processing my friend. This brings back memories of seeing these relics cruising down the pacific coast highway on occasion back as a kid in Cali.

    July 31, 2011 at 4:32 AM

    • Thanks for the comment, Adam. Yep, if it is car culture related, you are quite likely to see it here in California.

      July 31, 2011 at 11:37 AM

  5. Pingback: Friday Photo Spots & Wrong Turn — Jason Hines

Leave a Reply

