Images & Observations

Daylilies #703

Nikon D7000 18-135mm @ 135mm ISO 320 1/125 f/5.6 Lr3, TpzSimplify; PsCS5

For a change of pace this week I am experimenting with applying painterly effects to my images and the first of these images I am sharing originated in my backyard a couple of months ago.  The original RAW image was slightly overexposed, so I adjusted exposure and contrast in Lightroom.  I pulled the image in to Photoshop and used the Topaz Labs Simplify plug-in to create an oil paint effect and I used a Photoshop filter to create a background layer of artificial sandstone texture.  During these processes I also reduced detail and darkened objects that were in the background.  I really wanted to emphasize the vertical lines from the rigid green stems and contrast them with the flower petals which have an almost creamy soft look to them.

3 responses

  1. ken bello

    Exciting post processing, Wayne. I like this a lot. The subject is well suited to it and it’s a great photo to start with. Very nice!!!

    August 1, 2011 at 5:35 AM

  2. clean
    simple
    elegant

    August 2, 2011 at 10:48 AM

  3. Thanks, Ken and Mark. Your comments are encouraging.

    August 2, 2011 at 11:09 AM

Leave a Reply

