Images & Observations

Southwest Wing Mission Inn

Nikon D7000 28-300 mm @ 48 mm ISO 640 3-bkts f/11 Lr3, HEP1, PsCS5; ASAA3

This is a wider view from the position where I was when I captured most of the Street Life images that I am displaying this week and next.  The view is looking across part of the open air pedestrian mall that the city of Riverside, California created out of three blocks of Main Street.  This scene is actually bisected by Mission Inn Avenue, where you can see the columnar traffic barriers  in the lower left corner of this image.  In the same area as the traffic barriers is the “bridal party” that I captured and displayed earlier this week in my current Street Life series.  This is a great area to stake out or roam around, capturing the people passing through or hanging out and capturing some of the interesting period architecture.

In terms of capturing people, whether people connected to local business activity, tourists, young people before or after school, people attending local events, inter-generational groups, just every day street life, if you are patient and persistent, you will find it all here.  The Mission Inn is the defining structure in this area with its mixture of architectural styles (as I previously noted here) and in this image I wanted to capture some of the sense of time and place that the structure expresses.  Another aspect of this image that resonates with me is the shape of many of the inn’s windows, with the curve on their tops and the bell curve on top of the pediments, which is replicated in the bell shaped light standards and the bell street ornament in the right middle ground. This structure in Riverside, California stands in a semi-arid area of California that is very near to the low Sonoran desert and I tried to convey that feeling by de-saturating most of the colors in the image and using a tool to suggest a water color rendition.  I finished it off with the addition of dried parchment like texture, but I am a little ambivalent about that, I worry that it is too pronounced.

I welcome any constructive critiques.

4 responses

  1. ken bello

    It’s a well constructed photo, Wayne, but I understand your ambivalence to the texture. It’s a little distracting and the colors don’t blend well with the rest of the image. If you saved this with the texture on it’s own layer, turn it off and you’ll see what I mean. Of course, this is a personal opinion, so don’t mind me.

    September 3, 2011 at 2:17 PM

  2. Thanks, Ken, I don’t mind your opinion any time.

    September 3, 2011 at 2:51 PM

  3. very pretty image and area Wayne!

    September 10, 2011 at 1:57 PM

    • Thanks, Sheila. I’m still on the fence about the added texture on this one.

      September 11, 2011 at 3:31 PM

Leave a Reply

