Images & Observations

Gold Coupe

Car Show Fortnight

Nikon D7000 18-135mm @ 26mm ISO 800 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1, ASAA; PsCS5

This beauty was also on display at the Ontario Police Department Guns & Hoses car show on July 23, 2011.  After initial processing of the brackets in Lightroom I used Nik Software’s HDR Efex Pro to merge and tone map the images, then I duplicated the final HDR image and converted one copy in to a colored pencil drawing using Alien Skin’s Snap Art Photoshop plug-in.  I then layered the original HDR image with the colored pencil version and masked them together in Photoshop to achieve the painterly effect for the final image.

4 responses

  1. I love the detail and the colors in this, Wayne. And the processing is exceptional.

    September 21, 2011 at 5:07 AM

  2. Thanks, Ken. I’m pretty happy about how this final rendering came out, without the HDR processing I never would have been able to get the interior detail.

    September 22, 2011 at 10:30 AM

  3. great shot and treatment – if you are not already, I would approach the owners and see if they would be interested in buying a print of your work.

    September 23, 2011 at 8:11 AM

  4. I am carrying business cards now, Sheila. I told Judy I was thinking about tossing them on the seats of the cars at car shows (the owners are not always right there) and she freaked out. I haven’t yet suggested that she pass them out while I am shooting, as I’m sure that won’t sit will either. I will hand a card to a car owner if they catch my eye. I am trying to develop my own unique style for these automotive images and it would be really cool if I actually sold any of them.

    September 23, 2011 at 1:18 PM

Leave a Reply

