Images & Observations

Sunday Freight

Interpretive Digital Imaging

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 24mm ISO1600 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1, TpzSim; PsCS5

My photography has been evolving during the past year and I have been experimenting more and more with tools at my disposal to create unique or more painterly like renditions of my images.  (Please see my recent automotive images, in which I modify the context that the main subjects, the cars, are displayed in.)  The exercises that I am engaging in are leading me to seeing my subjects expressed with less documentary objectivity but  instead, expressed with more of my own sensual, and emotional narrative line of thought.   I find myself morphing the images I capture away from photo realism, eliminating or un-focussing details that do not seem necessary to tell the story, or which might distract the viewer, reducing the images to just the essential shapes, colors, lines and tones that expresses what I see but which also might enable another viewer to interpret the scene in a way that completes a story, or creates a feeling in his or her own mind.

This week’s images are another step along the path of painterly renditions for me and I was thinking “what can I classify these images as?”  What genre or style are my images  becoming.  For lack of a better categorization I am going to use the term Interpretive Digital Imaging for the time being.  And I will see where this will go.

It is late Sunday afternoon and while the commuter trains remain idle a BNSF freight train makes its way past the Riverside, California Metrolink commuter rail station.  This image was captured about 30 minutes after the last Metrolink train arrived with Sunday beach goers returning home.  The camera viewpoint is from the top of the pedestrian bridge stairs which lead to the east platform, in the far distance are the San Gabriel and San Bernardino Mountains to the north, poking above the haze and smog layer that extends east from Los Angeles County.

9 responses

  1. Enjoy the creative journey, Wayne. It’s fun to watch.

    October 3, 2011 at 3:20 PM

  2. I really like the painterly look. I tend to straddle the line between this and realism at times. It’s great to see you evolution, Wayne.
    This is a very attractive and artistic image. Rock on!

    October 3, 2011 at 6:32 PM

  3. Thanks for the encouraging words Mark and Jimi.

    October 3, 2011 at 6:48 PM

  4. Lovely work Wayne.

    October 3, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    • Thanks for stopping by and your comment, Edith. For some reason your comment ended up in my spam filter.

      October 10, 2011 at 7:30 PM

  5. I think this looks fantastic Wayne, Beautiful work. The only thing my eye keeps going back to is the tiny fragment of the tree on the upper right hand corner. I would crop that out but that is just me 🙂 Well done my friend!

    October 4, 2011 at 2:14 AM

  6. Thanks, Adam. Never noticed that tree in the upper left corner. I might just clone it out.

    October 4, 2011 at 9:43 AM

  7. cool… like it a lot Wayne. great composition and the colors are amazing.

    October 4, 2011 at 1:02 PM

  8. Thanks, Sheila. This all does come together fairly well and I’m happy with it.

    October 6, 2011 at 12:24 PM

Leave a Reply

