Images & Observations

Running Gear

Interpretive Digital Imaging

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 24mm ISO 200 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1, CEP3, TpzSim; PsCS5

This is the forward truck assembly on one of Metrolink’s EMD F59PH locomotives.  There is a wheel here and what I believe is brake equipment.  I really enjoy capturing images of mechanical devices, I believe they are great examples of sculptural art.  As with the other images I am sharing this week I practiced rendering the final image in a painterly style.  I played with overall contrast, adjusted highlights and shadows, modified color tones and reduced details.

I’d appreciate feedback from viewers of these images, what do you think of the painterly effects I am using, and would you like to see more images of mechanical or industrial equipment handled this way.

3 responses

  1. Cool shot. Reminds me of some steam punk machinery. 🙂

    October 6, 2011 at 7:25 AM

  2. Thanks, Aaron, that thought had not occurred to me, but I agree, it does have some of that feel to it.

    October 6, 2011 at 12:19 PM

  3. cool Wayne… how ‘industrial revolution.’ 🙂

    October 6, 2011 at 5:56 PM

Leave a Reply

