Images & Observations

Ready To Roll

Interpretive Digital Imaging

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 13mm ISO 200 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1, TpzSim; PsCS5

A final image from the Riverside, California Metrolink station, trackside looking north at two EMD F59PHI engines and the pedestrian bridge linking the west and east platforms.  (There are actually three platforms at this station, the west in the left foreground, the middle, between the two trains, and the east, which is behind the train on the right.  Passengers cross from the west to the middle platform at ground level, the crossing is in the right foreground of this image, and at the time the image was captured the ground level crossing was “roped” closed.)

This is my favorite image from the series this week

5 responses

  1. Very cool one today. Looks almost like a cross between painted and vector.

    October 7, 2011 at 1:49 PM

  2. Ken Bello

    I can see why this is your favorite, Wayne. Mine is the Vintage Chevy from last week.
    Some notes on your Interpretive Digital Imaging: Each photographer has a particular style, whether intentional or not, and that style should be a reflection of himself (herself?). While originality is hard to come by these days, it’s encouraging that we have the tools to be able to express ourselves and bring a meaningful interpretation to others. While an artist has no control on how a work is interpreted by an individual, it’s important that the work represented reflects his own ideals, and I feel that should be made clear. When you are in an experimental stage of development, keep that goal in mind and your work will be appreciated for what it is.

    October 7, 2011 at 4:54 PM

    • Thanks, Ken. As I make my way along my journey here I am getting closer and closer to expressing what pleases me or what triggers an emotional response in my own mind. Hopefully those who may be following along may feel some joy whether emotional or simply in terms of artistic appreciation, but I understand that the only person I should be seeking to impress is myself.

      Oh, and I need to clarify, the Vintage Chevy was my favorite image of the automotive images, this image was my favorite of the trains. I like them both for what they are.

      October 10, 2011 at 7:46 PM

  3. very nice effect Wayne – great colors.

    October 10, 2011 at 5:00 AM

    • Thanks, Sheila. I think I may be finding my niche with this style.

      October 10, 2011 at 7:47 PM

Leave a Reply

