Images & Observations

A Boy’s Passion Is Born

Nikon D7000 10-24mm @ 19mm ISO 800 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1; PsCS5

For a change of pace we are back to automotive images in the blog this week.  This image was captured at the Pasadena Police Department Classic Car Show in June of this year.  One of the issues that impacts the images that I capture at these events is the fact that all the cars are so close to each other, it can be  a challenge when you are trying to capture an image of one specific car.  I like to let the viewers of my images appreciate one car at a time.  In quite a few cases I resort to employing post processing techniques, and then the likes of Topaz Simplify and Photoshop, among others, come in to play.

Another element that can be distracting in these scenes is the people usually “loitering” around the vehicles.  Sometimes I try and wait them out to get an unobstructed view, sometimes I find that if I am patient, the people may position themselves where they can become a part of the narrative of the image.  This was one of those times.

To view in high resolution or purchase a print, please click on the image.

8 responses

  1. Awesome car, I want one! and not only because of the purple front (;

    December 19, 2011 at 2:01 AM

  2. ken bello

    I wish I had a people-wrangler when I go to these shows, but it just doesn’t happen. I think the best skill to develop in these situations is patience since it’s against the law to shoot them (at least in New York). Is this a ’32 Ford Deuce Coupe?

    December 19, 2011 at 10:25 AM

    • Ken if this looks like a ’32 Ford Deuce to you, then I defer to you, I am, shamefully, clueless about vintage automobiles. Tell me you are kidding about it being against the law in NY to photograph people in public.

      December 21, 2011 at 8:26 PM

      • oneowner

        I meant to actually shoot them with a gun, not a camera. It is against the law to photograph a person and use that photograph publicly without their consent. Thus the model release.

        December 22, 2011 at 1:39 PM

      • Well then I think the law in California might be different. My understanding is that when a person is out in public view, there is no expectation of privacy, and that I may photograph anyone in public I wish to. The only restriction is that I may not use their image for commercial purposes (e.g. as the face on cereal box, or in an ad to sell a product, service, etc.) but that pictures of people that I capture in public may be used by me for editorial or artistic purposes, without the permission of the person being photographed.

        This reminds me of the misperception that some people have that I may not photograph their children in public (these are usually people who think anyone photographing a child is a pedophile). While I have the right to photograph anyone in public, I will do it with circumspection and if I think my action might stimulate an uncomfortable situation, for either the subject or myself, I will refrain.

        I really think that this must be the prevailing rule of law throughout the country, otherwise we would probably never see another street shot published anywhere.

        December 22, 2011 at 2:28 PM

  3. love the catch here Wayne, well done and the processing with the soft focus around the edges does pull you right in, well done!

    December 19, 2011 at 1:47 PM

    • Thanks, Jim, I am constantly trying different techniques to isolate these cars when they are lined and surrounded by distractions, I do think this effort was rather successful.

      December 21, 2011 at 8:27 PM

Leave a Reply

