Images & Observations

Furniture Corner; Variations On A Theme

Nikon D7000 18-200mm @ 26mm ISO 640 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1, TpzSim; PsCS5

This scene is looking east on Colorado Boulevard, from the corner of Columbia in Pasadena, California.  It is just across the street from Le Cordon Bleu (pictured in Wednesday’s post) and just a block north of Le Cordon Bleu on Green Street (featured in last Monday’s and last Friday’s posts).

The first image (above) is another exercise in my emerging painterly/illustrative style.  With the the style I am practicing I am working to achieve flattened three dimensional objects, flattened and smoothed textures, a simplification of structural elements,  and an exploration of muted, but rich color tones and saturation.  The end result is intended to be more of a representation of the image, rather than a purely, precise, documentary photo-realistic rendering.

The image below is a variation of the first image.  For this image I applied the same post processing actions as the first image, but then I applied an impasto, painterly texture to the final image.  I wanted to see what would result from adding a paint brush stroke effect to my baseline image.  I like both variations, but I don’t anticipate that this experiment will lead me towards producing any more than an occasional rendition using the brush stroke technique.

Nikon D7000 18-200mm @ 26mm ISO 640 3-bkts f/16 Lr3, HEP1, TpzSim, SnapArt3; PsCS5

Please click on either image to view in high resolution, which I recommend for viewing the second image.

Leave a Reply

