Images & Observations

Floral Impression #4

Images From My Yard

Nikon D7000 17-135mm @ 135mm ISO 1600 1/640 f/16 Lr3, SnapArt3; PsCS5

This image is the first in a series of 15 floral images that were captured when I assigned myself a project to find images only in the backyard of my home.  I captured this image with a regular zoom lens, not a macro lens, hand held.  I achieved the impressionistic feeling for the image using an Alien Skin Snap Art 3 filter which applied an impasto like brushstroke, then using layer masking in Photoshop I applied a gaussian blur to the background elements.

This image reminds me of something you would find as the “face” of a greeting card, with of course a suitably sappy message imprinted on the inside.

4 responses

  1. oneowner

    Greeting card photos are really under rated by many photographers, but I admire quite a lot of them. This is a fine example. Very nice, Wayne.

    April 9, 2012 at 4:49 AM

    • Thanks, Ken. The final rendering of this is a departure from my usual style and I am pleased that I have been receiving some positive feed back on it.

      April 9, 2012 at 10:57 AM

  2. Beautiful flowers

    April 9, 2012 at 10:38 AM

Leave a Reply

