Images & Observations

Disconnected

Street Life

Nikon D7000 18-135mm @ 66mm ISO 320 1/60 f/11 Lr3, SEP2; CEP3

I was still parked in front of the Pottery Barn in Old Town, Pasadena when I captured this threesome halted by the stop light at Colorado and Fair Oaks.  The shiny sports car and the three seeming disconnected people riding in the car caught my eye, each one seemed buried in their own thoughts.  I like the play of the roundness of the tires against the two round faces, although I think I need to tone down the left tire a bit.  The woman looks worried about something, with the finger in her mouth, the man in the right front seat seems very intent on something or someone on the sidewalk. The man driving seems tortured by a combination of the harsh sunlight and the traffic in front of him.  I really would like to know what each were actually thinking at this moment.

8 responses

  1. Probably a dad with his 2 kids. They sit as far away as possible and always looking away LOL Great photo Wayne.

    June 8, 2011 at 3:25 PM

    • You know, you might be right, Ryan. They certainly don’t look happy to be there.

      June 8, 2011 at 4:41 PM

  2. lynette

    great photo, Wayne. love the black and white. that car manufacturer should send you some $$ 🙂

    June 8, 2011 at 3:38 PM

    • Thanks, Lynette. If I knew what kind of car it was, I would tag the photo with the name.

      June 8, 2011 at 4:44 PM

  3. There is a beautiful glow to the image.

    June 8, 2011 at 5:52 PM

    • Thanks, Andy. I appreciate your stopping by and commenting.

      June 8, 2011 at 6:03 PM

  4. Ken Bello

    How could you not be smiling in a Porsche? If I was a passenger in that car I’d be having the time of my life, even if I was being kidnapped. It’s a great shot, Wayne.

    June 9, 2011 at 2:44 PM

  5. Thanks, Ken. I guessed it was a Porsche but was too lazy to compare it to known Porsche images. Now if it were a Vette, Judy would have been all over it when I shot the image.

    June 9, 2011 at 3:51 PM

Leave a comment