Images & Observations

Street Side Contemplation

Street Life

Nikon D7000 28-300mm @ 300mm ISO 320 1/400 f/5.6 Lr3; SEP2

Judy and I spent another afternoon back in Riverside, California recently capturing some architectural images and street life.  This image presented itself to me while I was waiting for Judy who was fetching a yogurt smoothie from a sandwich shop near the intersection of Main Street  and Mission Inn Avenue.  This is a good area hang out and  find tourists, local shoppers, kids and business people passing by throughout the day on the two block section of Main Street that is closed to automotive traffic.

During post processing I used the global Brighten slider in Silver Efex Pro to  lighten the image overall, particularly the cars in the background and the street pavers in the foreground, and also applied the blue filter to lighten up the black car in the background.  I then used selective control points to move the Brightness slider in the opposite direction as the background slider movement to darken the man; brought up the contrast on the man.  I applied a cyan tone and a reverse vignetting effect on the corners to brighten them.

2 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    This gentleman has an interesting pose and I really like the shallow depth of field. Also of interest to me is that the man is the only part that has any texture and detail. Nice.

    June 13, 2011 at 3:33 PM

  2. Thanks, Ken. Yes I wanted to convey a sense of his surroundings, but wanted the emphasis on the man.

    June 13, 2011 at 3:54 PM

Leave a comment