Images & Observations

Urban Study #73

Nikon D7000 18-200mm @ 26mm ISO 200 1/2000, 1/500, 1/125 f/11 Lr4, HEP1, TpzSim; PsCS6

Still in Monrovia, California, this is the northwest corner of Foothill and Myrtle, just across Myrtle from the First Presbyterian Church.  I really enjoy capturing urban scenes that are reminiscent of life during the first half of the twentieth century, I think they remind me of my own childhood and the innocence of childhood.  This scene is much more interesting produces a feeling of warmth that is not present in contemporary commercial structures in my opinion.  The white lines breaking up the brickwork and the repetition of the green awnings give me a good feeling in this scene.

The D7000 and the 18-200mm Nikkor lens did a very nice job in capturing a high resolution image in these brackets.  You can actually make out some of the broadcast towers on top of Mt. Wilson in the background, which are approximately 12 miles distant.

Leave a comment